Alexander McCall Smith

Alexander McCall Smith is the author of the internationally popular No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, the Isabel Dalhousie series, the Portuguese Irregular Verbs series, the 44 Scotland Street series, and the Corduroy Mansions series. He is professor emeritus of medical law at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland and has served with many national and international organizations concerned with bioethics. He was born in what is now known as Zimbabwe and he was a law professor at the University of Botswana. He currently resides in Edinburgh, Scotland.

The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series

44 Scotland Street series

Akimbo series

Austen Project series

Corduroy Mansions series

Harriet Bean series

Isabel Dalhousie series

Max and Maddy series

Precious Ramotswe Mystery for Young Readers series

Professor Dr. von Igelfeld Entertainments series

School Ship Tobermory series


The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency  audio preview

44 Scotland Street audio preview


Alexander McCall Smith

Sign up for our email newsletter