Beverly Lewis

Beverly Lewis was born in the heart of Amish country—Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Her first venture into adult fiction is the bestselling trilogy The Heritage of Lancaster County, which includes The Shunning, a suspenseful saga of Katie Lapp, a young Amish woman drawn to the modern world by secrets from her past. The book is loosely based on the author's maternal grandmother, Ada Ranck Buchwalter, who left her Old Order Mennonite upbringing to marry a Bible College student. One Amish-country newspaper claimed Beverly's work to be "a primer on Lancaster County folklore" and "an insider's view of Amish life."

A member of the National League of American Pen Women, as well as a Distinguished Alumnus of Evangel University, Lewis has written over 80 books for children, youth, and adults, many of them award winners. She and her husband, David, make their home in Colorado, where they enjoy hiking, biking, and spending time with their family. They are also avid musicians and fiction "book worms."


Abram's Daughters series Heritage of Lancaster County series
Annie's People series Home to Hickory Hollow series
Courtship of Nellie Fisher series Rose series
Cul-de-sac Kids series Seasons of Grace series
Girls Only! V1 series SummerHill Secrets series
Girls Only! V2 series  


The Brethren audio preview


Beverly Lewis

Sign up for our email newsletter