Philip Roth

In 1997, Philip Roth won the Pulitzer Prize for American Pastoral. In 1998, he received the National Medal of Arts at the White House and, in 2002, he received the highest award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Gold Medal in Fiction. He has twice won the National Book Award, the PEN/Faulkner Award, and the National Book Critics Circle Award. In 2005, The Plot Against America received the Society of American Historians prize for “the outstanding historical novel on an American theme for 2003–2004” and the W. H. Smith Award for the Best Book of the Year, making Roth the first writer in the 46-year history of the prize to win it twice.

In 2005, Roth became the third living American writer to have his works published in a comprehensive, definitive edition by the Library of America. In 2011, he received the National Humanities Medal at the White House and was later named the fourth recipient of the Man Booker International Prize. In 2012, he won Spain’s highest honor, the Prince of Asturias Award, and, in 2013, he received France's highest honor, Commander of the Legion of Honor.

American series

Nathan Zuckerman series


The Dying Animal audio preview

Sign up for our email newsletter