The Ersatz Elevator

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (4.48 hours)
Product Number: Z100082082
Released: May 24, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780060793425
Narrator/s: Tim Curry
Please log in to view pricing

Description

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

x-large
Author(s): Lemony Snicket
Series: Series of Unfortunate Events Series No: 6
Original Publish Date: Sep 21, 2004

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Ersatz Elevator
Product Number: BX00059744
Product Number:DD11490
Product Number:Z100082082

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Lemony Snicket
Narrator(s): Tim Curry
Series:
Product Number DD11490
Released: Jul 29, 2003
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Harper Audio
ISBN: #9780060566210
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Lemony Snicket
Series:
Product Number EB00231304
Released: Mar 17, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: #9780061757181

Professional reviews

"In this sixth installment in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the Baudelaire orphans once again face off against Count Olaf and deal with yet another set of inadequate guardians. Tim Curry knows just how to deliver Snicket's brand of alternately dry and over-the-top humor. The voices Curry creates are perfect. Count Olaf sounds just as evil and creepy as he is, and the rest of the adults sound just as evil or incompetent as they turn out to be. Curry's voices for the Baulderlaires themselves are more subtle, but still distinct. Curry even manages to carry off the touching moments of the book, as the children mourn the loss of their parents and their inability to save the Quagmire triplets. A.F. (c) AudioFile 2002, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter