Leaping Beauty

And Other Animal Fairy Tales
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (3.17 hours)
Product Number: Z100120381
Released: Oct 24, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780060818418
Narrator/s: Gregory Maguire
Please log in to view pricing


Who better to wreak havoc with eight beloved fairy tales than Gregory Maguire, the brilliant, funny, and nationally best-selling author of the adult novel Wicked as well as the hilarious middle-grade series The Hamlet Chronicles. Zany animals of all species run through these fractured tales with alarming speed and dexterity. Who would have thought that the ageless, exquisite Cinderella could be recast as the silly story of an enormous yet lovable elephant who plods along to the ball with glass pie plates on her feet; or that Sleeping Beauty, that most regal of all fairy tales, could be twisted into the story of a frog with a most unusual and promising dance career? Get ready to meet a gorilla queen and a psycho chimp, seven giant giraffes, and one very bad walrus.

Author(s): Gregory Maguire
Original Publish Date: Nov 23, 2004

All formats/editions

Author(s): Gregory Maguire
Product Number EB00234765
Released: Mar 18, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: #9780061906305

Professional reviews

"In his first narration of his own work, Gregory Maguire whips up an array of clever voices for the cast of creatures in LEAPING BEAUTY. Written for the 8-12 set, this collection of fractured fairy tales puts seven giraffes in the place of the seven dwarves, a horrid skunk in the role of the evil stepmother, and three irresponsible penguins where three pigs once played. Maguire thoroughly enjoys himself on this collection as he plays for laughs. His timing and character voices are pitch-perfect for the text. Some listeners may tire of the constant ringing irony of the text, but will enjoy pieces like "Little Red Robin Hood," in which Maguire's wit is not so sardonic. K.C. (c) AudioFile 2004, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter