Sarah, Plain and Tall

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (1.02 hours)
Product Number: Z100030486
Released: Nov 18, 2008
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780061802157
Narrator/s: Glenn Close
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This beloved Newbery MedalA??winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay? This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love. Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, CalebA??s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and GrandfatherA??s Dance.

x-large
Author(s): Patricia MacLachlan
Series: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Nov 18, 2008

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Patricia MacLachlan
Narrator(s): Glenn Close
Series:
Product Number CB264
Released: Sep 27, 2005
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Harper Audio
ISBN: #9780694526024
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Patricia MacLachlan
Series:
Product Number EB00234984
Released: Mar 18, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: #9780062285768
Kit
x-large
Homework Pack
Author(s): Patricia MacLachlan
Narrator(s): Glenn Close
Series:
Product Number 3A788
Released: Oct 12, 2005
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781419361180
x-large
Class Set
Author(s): Patricia MacLachlan
Narrator(s): Glenn Close
Series:
Product Number 3K788
Released: Sep 27, 2005
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781419361197
x-large
Hanging Bag
Author(s): Patricia MacLachlan
Narrator(s): Glenn Close
Series:
Product Number 3C314
Released: Mar 03, 2006
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781419361203
Text
x-large
Teacher's Guide
Author(s): Patricia MacLachlan
Series:
Product Number 44792
Released: Mar 14, 2007
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781428114425
x-large
Author(s): Patricia MacLachlan
Series:
Product Number 12383
Released: Jan 14, 2000
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062399526

Professional reviews

"Glenn Close performs this wonderful tale just as it should be. Her melodious voice, combined with the musical interludes that mark transitions, lends a magical quality to the story. Through this magnificent performance, the listener is easily transported from the prairie house where Anna and Caleb wish for a mother, to Maine, where Sarah writes letters to them by the sea. The regional accents are done well, and the characterizations are true to the author's intent. This is a moving tale of the simple joys in life. It is hard to imagine there could be a better match between reader and story. D.L.M. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award (c) AudioFile 2001, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter