31 Bond Street

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.40 hours)
Product Number: Z100010123
Released: Mar 30, 2010
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780061953743
Narrator/s: Adam Grupper
Publisher: HarperAudio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"The skill with which Ellen Horan has braided true crime with thoughtful novelizing is pure pleasure.. Caleb Carr meets Scott Turow. What could possibly be better?" - Beverly Swerling, author of City of God "An impressive blend of imagination and history as it vividly brings to life one of New York's City's most notorious crimes. Ellen Horan has written a novel that, once begun, will be difficult for any reader to put down." - Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of Serena 31 Bond Street, an unforgettable literary debut from Ellen Horan, is based on the true story of a brutal murder, a desperate mother and mistress, and the vicious constraints of 19th century society. Fans of Caleb Carr's The Alienist, Edith Wharton's The House of Myrth, and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will love the stunning prose and beautiful imagery of 31 Bond Street.

x-large
Author(s): Ellen Horan
Original Publish Date: Mar 30, 2010

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Ellen Horan
Product Number EB00239510
Released: Mar 20, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780061969379

Professional reviews

"Based on a true-crime story from mid-nineteenth century New York, this novel has some fascinating characters: Oakley Hall, the corrupt Tweed Ring district attorney who prosecutes Emma Cunningham for the savage murder of her landlord and possible fiancŽ, Dr. Burdell (the victim and the accused both pretty nasty pieces of work), and the crusading defense lawyer who gets Emma off (but is never quite sure she is innocent). The plotting is tight and compelling, and there are wonderful period details. But the writing is wooden, and Adam Grupper's narration, while not bad, is sometime sloppy ("jewlerry" for "jewelry"), his dialogue unconvincing. Not quite a whodunit nor yet a courtroom thriller, this is still an absorbing picture of life and death in old New York. B.G. (c) AudioFile 2010, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter