Eels

An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish
x-large
Author(s): James Prosek
Genre: Science
Original Publish Date: Sep 21, 2010
Product Number: EB00233471
Released: Mar 17, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062008817
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story." —Thomas McGuane "I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish." —Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called "the Audubon of the fishing world") takes on nature's quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson's The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek's probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel's unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal's varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures.

Sign up for our email newsletter