American Eden

From Monticello to Central Park to Our Backyards: What Our Gardens Tell Us About Who We Are
Product Number: EB00233761
Released: Mar 17, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062078865
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"American Eden moves luminously through landscapes of history, literature, biography, and design theory...? fusing sharp-edged analysis and graceful American prose." —Kevin Starr, author of Golden Gate: The Life and Times of America's Greatest Bridge "Informative and absolutely engrossing." —Ross King, author of Brunelleschi's Dome Garden designer and historian Wade Graham offers a unique vision of the story of America in this riveting exploration of the nation's gardens and the visionaries behind them, from Thomas Thomas Jefferson's Monticello to Michelle Obama's vegetable garden, Fredrick Law Olmsted's expansive Central Park to Martha Stewart's how-to landscaping guides. In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky, Simon Schama, and Michael Pollan, Graham delivers a sweeping social history that examines our nation's history from an overlooked vantage point, illuminating anew the living drama of American self-creation.

x-large
Author(s): Wade Graham
Original Publish Date: Apr 05, 2011

Sign up for our email newsletter