Penny and Her Song

x-large
Author(s): Kevin Henkes
Original Publish Date: Feb 28, 2012
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (0.12 hours)
Product Number: Z100030749
Released: Feb 28, 2012
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062120755
Narrator/s: Cynthia Nixon
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Meet Penny, the sweet and curious mouse, in Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin HenkesA??s instant classic story for young readers, perfect for fans LillyA??s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum. When Penny comes home from school, she is ready to sing her song. But the babies are sleeping, and Mama and Papa are worried that Penny will wake them up. Oh, but it is a good song, a really wonderful song . . . and Penny wants more than anything to sing it. Will it ever be the right time to sing it? Penny and Her Song is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. Kevin Henkes is a master at creating books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Professional reviews

"Penny comes home from school with a new and original song, but her parents just don't seem to have time to listen. The new babies are their focus, not Penny. Sleeping babies, no singing at the dinner table--there's always a reason not to hear her song. Will her glass animals appreciate her creation? Will she remember it in the morning? Cynthia Nixon's narration is tender--gentle and quiet. Her Penny voice is suitably childlike, and her parents are understandably concerned for the new siblings but loving toward Penny as they come to realize that "one is nice, two is nice, three is even better. . . " Joy abounds in a satisfying conclusion. A.R. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award (c) AudioFile 2012, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter