A Bitter Truth

x-large
Author(s): Charles Todd
Series: Bess Crawford Mysteries Series No: 3
Genre: Mystery
Original Publish Date: Aug 30, 2011
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (11.02 hours)
Product Number: Z100092331
Released: Apr 05, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062125644
Narrator/s: Rosalyn Landor
Publisher: HarperAudio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A??Highly recommendedA??well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917A?¦an outstanding and riveting read.A?A??New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens A??Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.A?A??Washington Times Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to ToddA??s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from A??one of the most respected writers in the genreA? (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Charles Todd
Narrator(s): Rosalyn Landor
Series:
Product Number Z100019430
Released: Oct 01, 2011
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780792782605
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Charles Todd
Series:
Product Number EB00240004
Released: Mar 20, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: William Morrow
ISBN: #9780062092595

Professional reviews

"Rosalyn Landor returns as Bess Crawford, a WWI nurse and sleuth who adeptly solves mysteries that come her way in the British Isles. In A BITTER TRUTH, Bess, by chance, encounters a woman in distress in London and then accompanies her to her estate in Sussex, where dire consequences and murder ensue. Landor's clear enunciation denotes Bess's upbringing, common sense, and compassion. Landor also creates recognizable variation between all the women's voices. In particular, bold and authoritative matriarchs' voices are contrasted with those of relatives who speak with deference. However, male characters all converse in the same gruff tone. Bess's suspenseful leave in England ends with a harrowing quest as she returns to war-ravaged France. A.W. (c) AudioFile 2011, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter