American Tapestry

The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (11.98 hours)
Product Number: Z100030859
Released: Jun 19, 2012
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062189578
Narrator/s: Claudia Alick
Publisher: HarperAudio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself. In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research-in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family-author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama's black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know. At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves.

x-large
Author(s): Rachel L. Swarns
Genre: History
Original Publish Date: Jun 19, 2012

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Rachel L. Swarns
Genre: History
Product Number EB00230075
Released: Mar 17, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Amistad
ISBN: #9780062204653

Professional reviews

"The narrator is well chosen for this personal, historical, and national overview of race in America. Claudia Alick delivers the history of First Lady Michelle Obama's family with feeling. Alick also keeps pace with the big picture of American history as told against the contrast of a slave ancestor's upbringing. Alick varies her delivery so that the personal moments are told with sensitivity while maintaining a crisp efficiency in recounting other details relevant to modern life. Her warm tone draws the listener into this complex, well-researched story of how one woman's roots encapsulate the history of a nation. Alick unfolds these events, past and present, as though they were happening to members of one's own family. M.R. (c) AudioFile 2012, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter