Unapologetic

Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense
x-large
Author(s): Francis Spufford
Genre: Religion, Science
Original Publish Date: Oct 15, 2013
Product Number: EB00241556
Released: Mar 21, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062300485
Publisher: HarperOne
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience. Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis. Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Francis Spufford
Narrator(s): Francis Spufford
Product Number Z100158270
Released: Feb 11, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: ChristianAudio.com
ISBN: #9781545914236

Sign up for our email newsletter