The Miniaturist

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (13.28 hours)
Product Number: Z100084471
Released: Aug 26, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062331878
Narrator/s: Davina Porter
Publisher: HarperAudio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam-a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion-a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. "There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed..." On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office-leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist-an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways... Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand-and fear-the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation...?r the architect of their destruction? Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

x-large
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Original Publish Date: Aug 26, 2014

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Narrator(s): Davina Porter
Product Number DD14596
Released: Aug 26, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781483041674
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Product Number EB00241747
Released: Aug 26, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Ecco
ISBN: #9780062306838

Professional reviews

"The listener is transported to Amsterdam 1686. The story starts with 18-year-old Nella Oortman, who is excitedly preparing to embark on her new married life with Johannes Brandt, a merchant. The expressive narration of Davina Porter soon shows that this is not to be a conventional marriage. The Amsterdam setting takes a back seat in this story of developing relationships between a cast of characters who become increasingly reliant on each other. Porter's narration identifies each individual distinctively and sympathetically. When NellaÕs husband gives her a cabinet-sized replica of their house, Nella finds herself becoming increasingly involved with the man who makes the miniature furniture she fills it with. K.J.P. © AudioFile 2014, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter