Crimson Bound

x-large
Author(s): Rosamund Hodge
Original Publish Date: May 05, 2015
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (11.55 hours)
Product Number: Z100091394
Released: May 05, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062346377
Narrator/s: Elizabeth Knowelden
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Please log in to view pricing

Description

An exhilarating tale of darkness, love, and redemption inspired by the classic fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood and the extravagant court of Versailles, from the author of Cruel Beauty. A doomed warrior and the king's most notorious bastard must join forces to defeat a dark evil in this gorgeously intricate fantasyA??perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses. When Rachelle was fifteen she was goodA??apprenticed to her aunt and in training to protect her village from dark magic. But she was also recklessA??straying from the forest path in search of a way to free her world from the threat of eternal darkness. After an illicit meeting goes dreadfully wrong, Rachelle is forced to make a terrible choice that binds her to the very evil she had hoped to defeat. Three years later, Rachelle has given her life to serving the realm, fighting deadly creatures in a vain effort to atone. When the king orders her to guard his son ArmandA??the man she hates mostA??Rachelle forces Armand to help her hunt for the legendary sword that might save their world. Together, they navigate the opulent world of the courtly elite, where beauty and power reign and no one can be trusted. And as the two become unexpected allies, they discover far-reaching conspiracies, hidden magic . . . and a love that may be their undoing. Within a palace built on unbelievable wealth and dangerous secrets, can Rachelle discover the truth and stop the fall of endless night?

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Rosamund Hodge
Narrator(s): Elizabeth Knowelden
Product Number DD16810
Released: May 05, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504610971
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Rosamund Hodge
Product Number EB00529522
Released: May 05, 2015
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: #9780062224781

Professional reviews

"This lush and dark reimagining of Little Red Riding Hood is vibrantly enhanced by Elizabeth Knowelden's expert narration. With deliberation and a somber tone, she embodies Rachelle's struggle to resist becoming like the very monsters she fights in a magical medieval France. Marked by a Forest Born and then forced to murder someone she loved, Rachelle struggles to maintain her morality even while she's aware of the lengths she'll go to survive. Knowelden teases out the nuances of her emotions as she maintains the flat, even tones of the stern facade Rachelle presents to the court. Fairy-tale fans will be thoroughly entranced by the twisted path Rachelle must take to save humanity. J.M. © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter