Mademoiselle Chanel

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (14.95 hours)
Product Number: Z100087417
Released: Mar 17, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062373786
Narrator/s: Rebecca Gibel
Publisher: HarperAudio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel-the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman's daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century. Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother's death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood. Transforming herself into Coco-a seamstress and sometime torch singer-the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny. Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco's reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her. An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

x-large
Author(s): C.W. Gortner
Original Publish Date: Mar 17, 2015

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): C.W. Gortner
Narrator(s): Rebecca Gibel
Product Number DD15911
Released: Mar 17, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781481534079
eBook
x-large
Author(s): C.W. Gortner
Product Number EB00447212
Released: Mar 17, 2015
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: William Morrow
ISBN: #9780062356444

Professional reviews

"Few fashion icons shine as brightly as Coco Chanel, and this audiobook explores the origins of that sparkle. Rebecca Gibel narrates with a reverent tone, making each detail a kind of celebration of Chanel's legendary life and art. The audiobook begins modestly: Young Gabrielle "Coco" Chanel's mother dies, leaving her children alone and desperate. Gibel makes all voices believable without being cloying, capturing the drama of every situation with her clear pronunciation and pretty snippets of French. Sometimes that drama may seem overwrought, but this is, after all, a story about a remarkable personal history, so those moments can be forgiven. This audiobook makes a great listen for that summertime beach read or long road trip. L.B.F. © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter