The Unmapped Sea

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (9.33 hours)
Product Number: Z100087326
Released: Apr 21, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062397935
Narrator/s: Katherine Kellgren
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the fifth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood. Lord Fredrick Ashton may not feel ready to be a father, but with a little Ashton on the way, he's sure about one thing: the wolfish curse on his family must end soon, before the child is born. Penelope willingly takes on the challenge; when Lady Constance's doctor prescribes a seaside holiday, Penelope jumps at the chance to take the three Incorrigible children to Brighton, where she hopes to persuade the old sailor Pudge to reveal what he knows about the Ashton curse. But the Ashtons are not the only ones at the beach in January. The passionately temperamental Babushkinov family is also taking the winter waters. The Incorrigible children may have been raised by wolves, but the Babushkinov children are the wildest creatures they've ever seen. Is it more than mere coincidence that these untamed children have turned up in Brighton just as Penelope and the Incorrigibles arrive?

x-large
Author(s): Maryrose Wood
Awards:2016-Children Middle Grade Ages 8-12-Finalist-Audies
Original Publish Date: Apr 21, 2015

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Maryrose Wood
Narrator(s): Katherine Kellgren
Series:
Product Number DD16872
Released: Apr 21, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504615174
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Maryrose Wood
Series:
Product Number EB00517736
Released: Apr 21, 2015
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: #9780062110435

Professional reviews

"Narrator Katherine Kellgren's enthusiastic energy is a fine match for the farcical tone of this fifth installment in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series. Governess Penelope Lumley tries to unravel the curse that makes her employer, Fredrick Ashton, howl at every full moon--and she needs to solve the problem before his baby is born to the same fate. Kellgren captures Penelope's fretful yet stalwart manner as she tries to care for Lord Ashton's wards, tricks his wife into believing a hotel in Brighton is a ship headed to Italy, and realizes she's in love with her friend Simon. Moving between accents with ease, Kellgren creates distinct voices that heighten the madcap energy of the plot. Pure fun. A.F. © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter