Just My Luck

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (5.10 hours)
Product Number: Z100093294
Released: Feb 23, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062417916
Narrator/s: Kirby Heyborne
Publisher: HarperCollins
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Critically acclaimed author Cammie McGovern's powerful and heartwarming middle grade novel will appeal to readers who loved R. J. Palacio's Wonder, Holly Sloan's Counting by 7s, and Lynda Mullaly Hunt's Fish in a Tree. "This brave story, told with wry humor, is inspirational," raved Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain Reign. Fourth grade is not going at all how Benny Barrows hoped. He hasn't found a new best friend. He's still not a great bike rider-even though his brother George, who's autistic, can do tricks. And worst of all, he worries his dad's recent accident might be all his fault. Benny tries to take his mom's advice and focus on helping others, and to take things one step at a time. But when his dad ends up in the hospital again, Benny doesn't know how he and his family will overcome all the bad luck that life seems to have thrown their way. Just My Luck is a deeply moving and rewarding novel about a down-on-his-luck boy whose caring heart ultimately helps him find the strength to cope with tragedy and realize how much he truly has to offer his friends and family.

x-large
Author(s): Cammie McGovern
Original Publish Date: Feb 23, 2016

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Cammie McGovern
Narrator(s): Kirby Heyborne
Product Number DD23920
Released: Feb 23, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504695893
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Cammie McGovern
Product Number EB00612399
Released: Feb 23, 2016
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: #9780062330673

Professional reviews

"Kirby Heyborne's soft tones quickly define artistic, empathetic fourth-grader Benny Barrows. Benny's mother credits her youngest son with being the most compassionate member of the family, especially when it comes to handling his older brother, George, who is autistic. Heyborne evokes the gentleness of this tenderhearted boy and shows how Benny's vulnerable feelings intensify after his father's accident, the aneurysms that follow it, and Benny's belief that he's to blame. Benny's feelings seem particularly heartrending in light of a superficial schoolwide program undertaken to increase kindness. The book's sometimes heavy-handed messages are tempered by Heyborne's sympathetic depiction of a self-questioning boy who is honestly trying to understand his life's inner and outer complexities. S.W. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter