Symptoms of Being Human

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.78 hours)
Product Number: Z100099225
Released: Feb 02, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062447258
Narrator/s: Tom Phelan
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers. Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in Uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure-media and otherwise-is building up in Riley's life. On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school-even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast-the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created-a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in-or stand up, come out, and risk everything. From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

x-large
Author(s): Jeff Garvin
Original Publish Date: Feb 02, 2016

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Symptoms of Being Human
Product Number: BX00056307
Product Number:Z100099225
Product Number:DD23962

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Jeff Garvin
Narrator(s): Tom Phelan
Product Number DD23962
Released: Feb 02, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504695299
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Jeff Garvin
Product Number EB00611407
Released: Feb 02, 2016
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: #9780062382887

Professional reviews

"Riley Cavanaugh, who is starting at a new school, is navigating the complex notion of identifying as both a boy and a girl in a conservative town. Narrator Tom Phelan deftly conveys all the emotion and angst in Riley's journey. New friends help Riley cope with daily judgments and harassment by peers as a mostly supportive online community arises from Riley's anonymous blog posts about being a gender-fluid teen. Pressure mounts as family expectations, especially Riley's father's re-election, add to the anxiety of being exposed as the anonymous blogger. Phelan's ability to deliver an authentic voice for a teen who is exploring non-binary gender identity while coping with the fear of being outed lends truth to this powerful story of self-discovery. E.A.B. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter