All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (9.68 hours)
Product Number: Z100099237
Released: Mar 01, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062448187
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Junior Library Guild Selection * Kids' Indie Next List Pick From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me. Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth—and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home. When Perry moves to the "outside" world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from...?ut can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

x-large
Author(s): Leslie Connor
Awards:2017-Children Middle Grade: Ages 8-12-Finalist-Audies
Original Publish Date: Mar 01, 2016

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook
Product Number: BX00054965
Product Number:Z100099237
Product Number:DD23870

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Leslie Connor
Product Number DD23870
Released: Mar 01, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504695992
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Leslie Connor
Product Number EB00612745
Released: Mar 01, 2016
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062333483

Professional reviews

"Michael Crouch's voice suggests the unspoiled innocence of 11-year-old Perry, who has been raised in a coed correctional facility where his mother is incarcerated. Perry's enthusiasm for small pleasures expresses an appreciation born of his sheltered background. Crouch voices Perry's simple thoughts and comments, which reveal the rich perspective and wisdom he has derived from his nurturing mother and the male inmates who have raised him. The irony is painful when a district attorney decides to rescue Perry from his prison home. Crouch clearly conveys the D.A.'s ruthlessness. Kathleen McInerney, Perry's loving mother, burns with fury for the man and the legalities that separate her from her son. She fiercely hides the past as Perry determines to discover the truth. This poignant story inspires questions about truth, justice, family, and home. S.W. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter