The Land of Forgotten Girls

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (5.03 hours)
Product Number: Z100099238
Released: Mar 01, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062448194
Narrator/s: Lulu Lam
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better. School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls "A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance." For readers of Pam MuNoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents' Choice Gold Award. Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove-their mythical, world-traveling aunt-is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope? Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai. Booklist said, "Kelly's sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol's true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life."

x-large
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
Original Publish Date: Mar 01, 2016

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Land of Forgotten Girls
Product Number: BX00056623
Product Number:DD23986
Product Number:Z100099238

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrator(s): Lulu Lam
Product Number DD23986
Released: Mar 01, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504696111
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
Product Number EB00612738
Released: Mar 01, 2016
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
ISBN: #9780062238665

Professional reviews

"Narrator LuLu Lam's silvery, matter-of-fact tones are perfectly suited to portray Sol, who is trying to navigate adolescence and keep her little sister happy and safe by any means necessary. After the death of their mother, Sol and Ming's father moves from the Philippines to Louisiana with his daughters and their cruel stepmother, and then he promptly abandons them. As the narrative jumps between past and present, between misery and anticipation, Lam's range and insight guide her through a parade of intriguing characters. Kelly's story is of loss and redemption, and the power of hope to slowly transform. Lam's poise and skill give extra weight to the action, and bolster the fantastical stories that Sol uses to keep herself strong in times of despair. K.S.B. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter