Sword and Verse

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (11.57 hours)
Product Number: Z100113398
Released: Jan 19, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062467553
Narrator/s: Emily Rankin
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner.Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death.Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance-an underground rebel army-to help liberate the city's slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries-one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.

x-large
Author(s): Kathy MacMillan
Original Publish Date: Jan 19, 2016

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Sword and Verse
Product Number: BX00056306
Product Number:DD23771
Product Number:Z100113398

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Kathy MacMillan
Product Number DD23771
Released: Jan 19, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504694759
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Kathy MacMillan
Product Number EB00611381
Released: Jan 19, 2016
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: #9780062324634

Sign up for our email newsletter