This Savage Song

x-large
Author(s): Victoria Schwab
Series: Monsters of Verity Series No: 1
Awards:New York Times Bestseller
Original Publish Date: Jul 05, 2016
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.15 hours)
Product Number: Z100113636
Released: Jul 05, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062468116
Narrator/s: Therese Plummer
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year ThereA??s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villainsA??and friends or enemiesA??with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided cityA??a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocentA??but heA??s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, whoA??s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers AugustA??s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every sideA??including the monsters within.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Victoria Schwab
Narrator(s): Therese Plummer
Series:
Genre: Fantasy
Product Number DD25737
Released: Jul 05, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504736282
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Victoria Schwab
Series:
Product Number EB00621364
Released: Jul 05, 2016
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
ISBN: #9780062380876

Professional reviews

"Therese Plummer's charged narration brings to life this fantasy tale of dread and terror. Plummer deftly switches between teens August and Kate, whose rival fathers have split their city over their different methods of controlling the monsters that have overrun it. Whether voicing defiant Kate or introspective August, Plummer projects an element of fear, reminding listeners that the truce between the two parts of the city is fragile--and that monsters lurk around every corner. As the action of the audiobook speeds up, Plummer matches her pacing to keep listeners engaged through every violent turn of events. E.M.C. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter