The Dress in the Window

A Novel
Product Number: EB00689611
Released: Jul 25, 2017
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062499738
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A perfect debut novel is like a perfect dress-it's a "must have" and when you "try it on" it fits perfectly. In this richly patterned story of sisterhood, ambition, and reinvention Sofia Grant has created a story just right for fans of Vintage and The Dress Shop of Dreams. World War II has ended and American women are shedding their old clothes for the gorgeous new styles. Voluminous layers of taffeta and tulle, wasp waists, and beautiful color-all so welcome after years of sensible styles and strict rationing. Jeanne Brink and her sister Peggy both had to weather every tragedy the war had to offer-Peggy now a widowed mother, Jeanne without the fiancE she'd counted on, both living with Peggy's mother-in-law in a grim mill town. But despite their grey pasts they long for a bright future-Jeanne by creating stunning dresses for her clients with the help of her sister Peggy's brilliant sketches. Together, they combine forces to create amazing fashions and a more prosperous life than they'd ever dreamed of before the war. But sisterly love can sometimes turn into sibling jealousy. Always playing second fiddle to her sister, Peggy yearns to make her own mark. But as they soon discover, the future is never without its surprises, ones that have the potential to make-or break-their dreams.

x-large
Author(s): Sofia Grant
Original Publish Date: Jul 25, 2017

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Sofia Grant
Narrator(s): Teri Schnaubelt
Product Number DD33246
Released: Jul 25, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538453780
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Sofia Grant
Narrator(s): Teri Schnaubelt
Product Number Z100122941
Released: Jul 25, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062698049

Sign up for our email newsletter