The Actual One

How I Tried, and Failed, to Avoid Adulthood Forever
Product Number: EB00671617
Released: Jan 31, 2017
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062571984
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A hilarious, razor-sharp debut memoir about the moment when you realize that your friends have all grown up and left you behind, for readers of Caitlin Moran's How To Be A Woman, Jenny Lawson's Let's Pretend This Never Happened, and Kelly Williams Brown's Adulting. Isy Suttie wakes up one day in her late twenties to discover that the deal she'd struck with her friends, to put off growing up for as long as possible, had been entirely in her head. Everyone around her is suddenly into mortgages, farmers' markets, and going off the Pill, rather than running naked into the sea or getting hammered in a country pub with eighty-year-old men.After a particularly crushing breakup precipitated by Isy's gifting of a human-size papier-mAchE penguin to her boyfriend, her dearest friend advises Isy not to worry: the next guy she meets will be The Actual One.Heartened by this promise, Isy decides to keep delaying the onset of adulthood, whether that means standing on the side of a highway in nothing but an old fur coat and sneakers, dating a man who speaks only in rhyme, or conquering her fears of Alpine skiing by wildly overestimating her athletic ability. Insightful and laugh-out-loud funny, The Actual One is an ode to the confusing wilderness of your late twenties, alongside a quest for a genuinely good relationship...?r at the very least, a good story to tell.

x-large
Author(s): Isy Suttie
Original Publish Date: Jan 31, 2017

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Isy Suttie
Product Number DD30409
Released: Jan 31, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781470854041
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Isy Suttie
Narrator(s): Isy Suttie
Product Number Z100118793
Released: Jan 31, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062665614

Sign up for our email newsletter