American Street

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (8.58 hours)
Product Number: Z100118367
Released: Feb 14, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062661241
Narrator/s: Robin Miles
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews! A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

x-large
Author(s): Ibi Zoboi
Original Publish Date: Feb 14, 2017

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Ibi Zoboi
Product Number EB00672187
Released: Feb 14, 2017
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: #9780062473066

Professional reviews

"When American-born Fabiola Toussaint's Haitian mother is taken by U.S. immigration officers, the teenager is left on her own to make a new life with her aunt and cousins in Detroit. Narrator Robin Miles glides silkily through Haitian Creole, Detroit street talk, and standard American English, infusing the dialogue with authentic-sounding accents and age-appropriate sass and bravado. This audiobook addresses the complexities of contemporary immigration, and Miles illuminates Fabiola's tangled emotions: her longing for her mother, her wish to assimilate while holding on to her rich cultural past, and her shattered illusions of the American Dream. Miles taps into each character's unique struggle to balance survival with tough choices, infusing her near-flawless performance with nuanced drama. Listeners will long remember Fabiola's transformative journey. C.B.L. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2017, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter