Trouble No Man

A Novel
Product Number: EB00720146
Released: Jan 29, 2019
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062698339
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Please log in to view pricing

Description

American War meets Into the Wild in Brian Hart's epic saga of one man's struggle to survive a hostile world-tracing his path from a self-destructive, skateboarding youth in the 90s to the near future as he journeys across a desolate, militia-controlled American West to find his missing family-perfect for fans of Edan Lepuki and Cormac McCarthy. In the America of a near future, northern California and the Pacific Northwest have become a desolate wasteland controlled by violent separatist militias and marked by a lack of water and fuel. In a village outside Reno, a middle-aged man visits an undertaker and gathers the ashes of his dead wife to bring to Alaska. There, their children await them-refugees from the destruction of the south. To reach his only remaining family, the man must cross the treacherous, violent landscape north by bike, his dog his only companion. Thirty years earlier, we meet Roy Bingham. After a rough-and-tumble childhood, Roy is numbing himself with skateboarding, drugs, and sex, when he meets Karen. Sassy, soulful, and arresting, Karen pulls Roy into her orbit until she decides to give up their nomadic lifestyle to put down roots in her hometown of Loyalton, California. Roy's fidelity buckles under the commitment and after a boozy night in Reno he leaves Karen for the road and skateboarding. Flashing back and forth in time across four decades in the life of a man who is lost even when he's found, Trouble No Man delivers a resonant story of survival, violence, and family, set against the tumult of an America on the precipice of becoming an unfree nation.

x-large
Author(s): Brian Hart
Original Publish Date: Jan 29, 2019

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Brian Hart
Narrator(s): Christian Baskous
Product Number DD42208
Released: Jan 29, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781982610302
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Brian Hart
Narrator(s): Christian Baskous
Product Number Z100138054
Released: Jan 29, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: HarperAudio
ISBN: #9780062876508

Sign up for our email newsletter