Out of Place

Product Number: EB00735946
Released: Jun 04, 2019
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062748614
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

When twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein becomes the target of a school-wide bullying campaign, she sets out to find a way to leave her home on Martha's Vineyard for New York City, where her best friend lives. But Cove discovers that friends can appear in the unlikeliest places, and maybe home isn't the worst place to be after all. Jennifer Blecher's debut novel is a voice-driven story about bullying, friendship, and self-reliance that hits the sweet spot for fans of Ali Benjamin's The Thing About Jellyfish and Erin Entrada Kelly's You Go First. Twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein's year has gone from bad to worse. First, her best friend, Nina, moved from Martha's Vineyard to New York City. Then, without Nina around, Cove became the target of a bullying campaign at school. Escape seems impossible. But opportunities can appear when you least expect them. Cove's visit to a secondhand clothing store leads her to a surprising chance to visit Nina, but only if she can win a coveted place in a kids-only design competition. Cove doesn't know how to sew, but her friend at the retirement home, Anna, has promised to teach her. And things start really looking up when a new kid at school, Jack, begins appearing everywhere Cove goes. Then Cove makes a big mistake. One that could ruin every good thing that has happened to her this year. One that she doesn't know how to undo. Jennifer Blecher's accessible and beautifully written debut novel explores actions and consequences, loneliness, bullying, and finding your voice. This voice-driven friendship story is for fans of Rebecca Stead's Goodbye Stranger and Jodi Kendall's The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City. Includes black-and-white spot art throughout.

x-large
Author(s): Jennifer Blecher
Original Publish Date: Jun 04, 2019

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Jennifer Blecher
Narrator(s): Kathleen McInerney
Product Number DD44230
Released: Jun 04, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781982660680
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Jennifer Blecher
Narrator(s): Kathleen McInerney
Product Number Z100143554
Released: Jun 04, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062911278

Sign up for our email newsletter