A Dangerous Duet

A Novel
Product Number: EB00718366
Released: Nov 06, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062796615
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This dazzling new Victorian mystery from USA Today bestselling author Karen Odden introduces readers to Nell Hallam, a determined young pianist who stumbles upon the operations of a notorious-and deadly-crime ring while illicitly working as the piano player in a Soho music hall. Perfect for readers of Tasha Alexander, Anne Perry, and Deanna Raybourn. Nineteen-year-old Nell Hallam lives in a modest corner of Mayfair with her brother Matthew, an inspector at Scotland Yard. An exceptionally talented pianist, she aspires to attend the Royal Academy; but with tuition beyond their means, Nell sets out to earn the money herself-by playing piano in a popular Soho music hall. And the fact that she will have to disguise herself as a man and slip out at night to do it doesn't deter her. Spending evenings at the Octavian is like entering an alternate world, one of lively energy, fascinating performers, raucous patrons-and dark secrets. And when Nell stumbles upon the operations of an infamous crime ring working in the shadows of the music hall, she is drawn into a conspiracy that stretches the length of London. To further complicate matters, she has begun to fall for the hall owner's charismatic son, Jack, who has secrets of his own. The more Nell becomes a part of the Octavian's world, the more she risks the relationships with the people she loves. And when another performer is left for dead in an alley as a warning, she realizes her future could be in jeopardy in more ways than one.

x-large
Author(s): Karen Odden
Original Publish Date: Nov 06, 2018

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Karen Odden
Narrator(s): Billie Fulford-Brown
Product Number DD40215
Released: Nov 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781982552039
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Karen Odden
Narrator(s): Billie Fulford-Brown
Product Number Z100133020
Released: Nov 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062867667

Sign up for our email newsletter