I'll Be Your Blue Sky

x-large
Original Publish Date: Mar 06, 2018
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (8.47 hours)
Product Number: Z100126834
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062802804
Publisher: HarperAudio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The New York Times bestselling author revisits the characters from her beloved novels Love Walked In and Belong to Me in this captivating, beautifully written drama involving family, friendship, secrets, sacrifice, courage, and true love for fans of Jojo Moyes, Elin Hilderbrand, and Nancy Thayer. On the weekend of her wedding, Clare Hobbes meets an elderly woman named Edith Herron. During the course of a single conversation, Edith gives Clare the courage to do what she should have done months earlier: break off her engagement to her charmingA??yet overly possessiveA??fiancA©. Three weeks later, Clare learns that Edith has diedA??and has given her another gift. Nestled in crepe myrtle and hydrangea and perched at the marshy edge of a bay in a small seaside town in Delaware, Blue Sky House now belongs to Clare. Though the former guest house has been empty for years, Clare feels a deep connection to Edith inside its walls, which are decorated with old photographs taken by Edith and her beloved husband, Joseph. Exploring the house, Clare finds two mysterious ledgers hidden beneath the kitchen sink. Edith, it seems, was no ordinary womanA??and Blue Sky House no ordinary place. With the help of her mother, Viviana, her surrogate mother, Cornelia Brown, and her former boyfriend and best friend, Dev Tremain, Clare begins to piece together the story of Blue Sky HouseA??a decades-old mystery more complex and tangled than she could have imagined. As she peels back the layers of EdithA??s life, Clare discovers a story of dark secrets, passionate love, heartbreaking sacrifice, and incredible courage. She also makes startling discoveries about herself: where sheA??s come from, where sheA??s going, and whatA??and whoA??she loves. Shifting between the 1950s and the present and told in the alternating voices of Edith and Clare, IA??ll Be Your Blue Sky is vintage Marisa de los SantosA??an emotionally evocative novel that probes the deepest recesses of the human heart and illuminates the tender connections that bind our lives.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Narrator(s): Angela Dawe, Erin Bennett
Product Number DD35143
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538498941
eBook
x-large
Product Number EB00706066
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: William Morrow
ISBN: #9780062431950

Professional reviews

"Marisa de los Santos revisits characters from two previous novels, LOVE WALKED IN and BELONG TO ME, but new listeners can easily enjoy this installment as a stand-alone. Shifting between the 1950s and the present day, the story alternates between the voices of Edith and Clare--narrated by Angela Dawe and Erin Bennett. When the two women meet on the eve of Clare's wedding, it sets off a chain of events that will lead Clare to make some startling changes and discoveries. The dual narration, meant to distinguish Edith's voice from Clare's, doesn't add much to the listening experience, as both narrators have similar voices and reading styles. Nonetheless, the narration is natural and without artifice--a perfect fit for de los Santos's fluid and poetic prose. L.C.L. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter