The Poet X

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (3.50 hours)
Product Number: Z100126843
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062822482
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A National Book Award Longlist title! Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent. "Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation "An incredibly potent debut." —Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost "Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

x-large
Author(s): Elizabeth Acevedo
Awards:New York Times Bestseller
Original Publish Date: Mar 06, 2018

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Poet X
Product Number: BX00068635
Product Number:Z100126843
Product Number:DD35170

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrator(s): Elizabeth Acevedo
Product Number DD35170
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538500231
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Elizabeth Acevedo
Product Number EB00706084
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: #9780062662828

Sign up for our email newsletter