Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea

x-large
Author(s): Lynne Rae Perkins
Original Publish Date: May 15, 2018
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (3.20 hours)
Product Number: Z100128652
Released: May 15, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062841391
Narrator/s: Brittany Pressley
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Newbery Medalist Lynne Rae Perkins introduces two irresistible sistersA??Alix and JoolsA??and takes readers on an unforgettable vacation to the beach. This is a joyful celebration of sisters, family, friendship, and the ocean. The Wall Street Journal said, A??Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae PerkinsA??s affectionate chapter book. A sunny summer story.A? For fans of Kate DiCamillo and Rebecca Stead. Alix and her older sister, Jools, have never been to the ocean. When their parents pack them up to spend a week by the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving homeA??but excited, too. At the beach, the sisters make friends, go exploring, and have adventures big and small. To AlixA??s surprise, as the week comes to an end, she finds she doesnA??t want to leave! Each chapter contains its own miniature discoveryA??from picking periwinkles, meeting a crab, and making sandcastles, to exploring the nearby town. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a genuine and engaging novel about sisters, family, and exploration. A great read-aloud, as well as a good choice for newly independent readers. Booklist said, A??Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated.A?

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Lynne Rae Perkins
Narrator(s): Brittany Pressley
Product Number DD36914
Released: May 15, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538500651
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Lynne Rae Perkins
Product Number EB00710418
Released: May 15, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
ISBN: #9780062499684

Professional reviews

"Sisters Alix and Jools set off with their parents on a week-long summer vacation at the ocean. Narrator Brittany Pressley captures each sister's personality perfectly. The family rents a house for the week from Mrs. Kerr, who lives upstairs. Alix and Jools have some wonderful adventures, including going to the beach, collecting sea glass, and making new friends. Pressley voices each of the girls with spunk, inquisitiveness, and love. The way Pressley speaks makes listeners feel that they are being pulled through the story by a warm ocean breeze. This wonderful light summer read will leave listeners with a happy feeling. A.M. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter