The Light Between Worlds

x-large
Author(s): Laura E. Weymouth
Original Publish Date: Oct 23, 2018
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (9.57 hours)
Product Number: Z100139751
Released: Oct 23, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062890252
Publisher: HarperTeen
Please log in to view pricing

Description

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa AlbertA??s The Hazel Wood and Lev GrossmanA??s The Magicians. Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust. Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sisterA??s despair and the painful truths theyA??ve been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under. Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing, and what it means to find where you belong.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Laura E. Weymouth
Product Number DD40174
Released: Oct 23, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781982553449
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Laura E. Weymouth
Product Number EB00718854
Released: Oct 23, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: #9780062696892

Professional reviews

"Narrators Fiona Hardingham and Moira Quirk skillfully deliver the story of two sisters. Evelyn is lost between two worlds: the magical Woodlands, where her heart feels truly at home, and post-WWII England, where her family remains. Older sister Philippa does what she must to find a place again in their current world. With distinct voices and accents for each of the characters, both Hardingham and Quirk bring the listener into the worlds shared by the siblings. They equally engage the listener so that one feels Evelyn's despair and Philippa's uncertainty and guilt. The slight variations between narrators can be attributed to each character's point of view, adding another layer to this superb production. A.L.S.M. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter