Half of What You Hear

eAudio - unabridged
Audio
Product Number: Z100142729
Released: Dec 31, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062909480
Narrator/s: Candace Thaxton
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From well-loved women's fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors-perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand. Greyhill, Virginia-refuge of old money, old mansions, and old-fashioned ideas about who belongs and who doesn't-just got a few new residents. When Bess Warner arrives in town with her husband Cole and their kids, she thinks she knows what to expect. Sure, moving to Cole's small hometown means she'll have to live across the street from her mother-in-law, and yes, there's going to be a lot to learn as they take over Cole's family's inn-keeping business, but Bess believes it will be the perfect escape from Washington. She needs it to be. After losing her White House job under a cloud of scandal, she hardly knows who she is anymore. But Bess quickly discovers that fitting in is easier said than done. Instead of the simpler life she'd banked on, she finds herself preoccupied by barbed questions from gossipy locals and her own worries over how her twins are acclimating at the town's elite private school. When the opportunity to write an article for the Washington Post's lifestyle supplement falls into Bess's lap, she thinks it might finally be her opportunity to find her footing here.even if the subject of the piece is Greyhill's most notorious resident. Susannah "Cricket" Lane, fruit of the town's deepest-rooted family tree, is a special sort of outsider, having just returned to Greyhill from New York after a decades-long hiatus. The long absence has always been the subject of suspicion, not that the eccentric Susannah cares what anyone thinks; as a matter of fact, she seems bent on antagonizing as many people as possible. But is Susannah being sincere with Bess-or is she using their strangely intense interview sessions for her to further an agenda that includes peeling back the layers of Greyhill's darkest secrets? As Bess discovers unsettling truths about Susannah and Greyhill at large, ones that bring her into the secrets of prior generations, she begins to learn how difficult it is to start over in a town that runs on talk, and that sometimes, the best way to find yourself is to uncover what everyone around you is hiding...

x-large
Author(s): Kristyn Kusek Lewis
Original Publish Date: Dec 31, 2018

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Half of What You Hear
Product Number: BX00086987
Product Number:Z100142729
Product Number:DD41211

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Kristyn Kusek Lewis
Narrator(s): Candace Thaxton
Product Number DD41211
Released: Dec 31, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781982601256
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Kristyn Kusek Lewis
Product Number EB00723367
Released: Dec 31, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
ISBN: #9780062673374

Sign up for our email newsletter