Nocturna

x-large
Author(s): Maya Motayne
Series: Forgery of Magic Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: May 07, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (14.80 hours)
Product Number: Z100142957
Released: May 07, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062911117
Narrator/s: Kyla Garcia
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The first in a sweeping and epic own voices debut fantasy trilogyA??set in a stunning Latinx-inspired worldA??about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V. E. Schwab. To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses herA?¦and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks. As a talented faceshifter, itA??s been years since Finn has seen her own face, and thatA??s exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, sheA??s forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from CastallanA??s royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever.After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie canA??t help but feel that he will never live up to his brotherA??s legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.But when Finn's and AlfieA??s fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient powerA??which, if not contained, will devour the world. And with CastallanA??s fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Maya Motayne
Narrator(s): Kyla Garcia
Series:
Product Number DD43798
Released: May 07, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781982657253
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Maya Motayne
Series:
Product Number EB00734201
Released: May 07, 2019
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: #9780062842756

Professional reviews

"Kyla Garcia narrates this colorful Latinx-inspired fantasy. Finn, a face-shifting thief, isn't afraid to take risks to get what she needs. Reluctant prince Alfehr is still reeling from the sudden death of his older brother. They must join forces to defeat the powerful dark magic that was just accidentally unleashed in the kingdom of Castellan, overcoming their own demons to do so. Garcia does an excellent job narrating the world-building and magic, and she delivers the Spanish words throughout with expertise. However, her depictions of the main characters are too soft for the intense emotions they experience. It's difficult to empathize with their struggles when the tone of the narration is so relaxed. A.K.R. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"