Sorry for Your Loss

x-large
Author(s): Jessie Ann Foley
Genre: Ya Fiction
Original Publish Date: Jun 04, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.73 hours)
Product Number: Z100143652
Released: Jun 04, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062914064
Narrator/s: Ron Butler
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From Printz Honor winner and Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley comes a comitragic YA novel that will appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson and Jeff Zentner. As the youngest of eight, painfully average Pup Flanagan is used to flying under the radar. HeA??s barely passing his classes. His lets his longtime crush walk all over him. And heA??s in no hurry to decide on a college path. The only person who ever made him think he could be more was his older brother Patrick. But that was before Patrick died suddenly, leaving Pup with a family who wonA??t talk about it and acquaintances who just keep saying, A??sorry for your loss.A? When Pup excels at a photography assignment he thought heA??d bomb, things start to come into focus. His dream girl shows her true colors. An unexpected friend exposes Pup to a whole new world, right under his nose. And the photograph that was supposed to show Pup a way out of his grief ultimately reveals someone else who is still stuck in their own. Someone with a secret regret Pup never could have imagined.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Jessie Ann Foley
Narrator(s): Ron Butler
Genre: Ya Fiction
Product Number DD44243
Released: Jun 04, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781982661229
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Jessie Ann Foley
Genre: Ya Fiction
Product Number EB00735942
Released: Jun 04, 2019
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
ISBN: #9780062571939

Professional reviews

"Narrator Ron Butler has a challenging task in describing Pup Flanagan's large family. Sixteen-year-old Pup is the youngest of five "sister-mothers" and Luke, an angry, alcoholic brother. Butler manages to distinguish all of them, their overwhelming collective presence, and the unexpressed grief that lingers after the death of Patrick, the oldest. Though it's been two years, Pup is listless at school, uninvolved in his studies. The stress of watching Luke's descent into alcoholism, seeing his parents' inattention to life, and missing the loving support of Patrick saps his energy. New beginnings come when Pup breaks out of the role of youngest child, discovers personal expression through photography, and finds the courage to confront the painful silence and hidden hurts of his family. A poignant, believable portrait of grief. S.W. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter