The Eighth Girl

A Novel
Product Number: EB00761032
Released: Mar 17, 2020
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062931146
Publisher: William Morrow
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In this unsettling, seductive psychological debut, a young woman with multiple personalities is drawn into London's hellish underworld when she becomes entangled with a man who has an abominable secret, for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Clare Mackintosh.One woman, multiple personas. But which one is telling the truth? Alexa WU nearly has her life together: a new relationship, a job that pays the bills, and a promising interview for a photojournalism position. But, it's complicated. Alexa is manipulated by a series of alternate personas that run her life, and it's a constant struggle to keep her other "selves" in check, to prevent them from coming out when it's not safe, to make sure no one is aware they exist-except for the three people she trusts: her psychiatrist; her stepmother; and her enigmatic best friend Ella. When Ella gets a job at a high-end gentlemen's club, she catches the attention of its shark-like owner and is gradually drawn into his inner circle. As Alexa's world becomes intimately entangled with Ella's, she soon finds herself the unwitting keeper of a nightmarish secret. With no one to turn to and lives at stake, she follows Ella into London's cruel underbelly on a daring rescue mission. Vulnerable and in danger, Alexa will discover whether her multiple personalities are her greatest asset, or her deadliest obstacle. Electrifying and breathlessly compulsive, The Eighth Girl is an omnivorous examination of life with mental illness and the coruscating trauma of life in a misogynist world. With bingeable prose and a clinician's expertise, Maxine Mei-Fung Chung's psychological debut deftly navigates the swirling confluence of identity, innocence, and the impossible fracturing weights that young women are forced to carry, causing us to question: Does the truth lead to self-discovery, or self-destruction?

x-large
Original Publish Date: Mar 17, 2020

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Product Number Z100152234
Released: Mar 17, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062987679

Sign up for our email newsletter