The German Heiress

A Novel
x-large
Author(s): Anika Scott
Original Publish Date: Apr 07, 2020
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.42 hours)
Product Number: Z100152947
Released: Apr 07, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062937759
Narrator/s: Lisa Flanagan
Publisher: HarperAudio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A??Meticulously researched and plotted like a noir thriller, The German Heiress tells a different story of WWIIA?? of characters grappling with their own guilt and driven by the question of what they could have done to change the past.A? A??Jessica Shattuck, New York Times bestselling author of The Women in the Castle For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany.Clara Falkenberg, once GermanyA??s most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname A??the Iron FrAuleinA? during World War II for her role operating her familyA??s ironworks empire. ItA??s been nearly two years since the war ended and sheA??s left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her familyA??s past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa. Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer whoA??s hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each otherA??if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war. Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Anika Scott
Narrator(s): Lisa Flanagan
Product Number DD49758
Released: Apr 07, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781094118543
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Anika Scott
Product Number EB00762681
Released: Apr 07, 2020
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062937742

Sign up for our email newsletter