Crier's War

x-large
Author(s): Nina Varela
Series: Crier's War Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Oct 01, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (13.63 hours)
Product Number: Z100148751
Released: Oct 01, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062964830
Narrator/s: Kim Mai Guest
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in a richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girlsA??one human, one MadeA??whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution. Perfect for fans of Marie RutkoskiA??s The WinnerA??s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld. After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their ownersA?? estates and bent the human race to their will. Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her familyA??s deathA?¦by killing the sovereignA??s daughter, Lady Crier. Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her fatherA??s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isnA??t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla. Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Nina Varela
Narrator(s): Kim Mai Guest
Series:
Product Number DD46734
Released: Oct 01, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781094025483
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Nina Varela
Series:
Product Number EB00749781
Released: Oct 01, 2019
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
ISBN: #9780062823960

Professional reviews

"Narrator Kim Mai Guest valiantly leads listeners through the richly imagined kingdom of Rabu, where the tension between humans and Automae--alchemically created humans who have subjugated humanity--has reached an all-time high. Caught in the middle are Crier, an Automa noble with political ambitions, and her human handmaiden, Ayla, an undercover member of the resistance, who are set on getting revenge against the Automae. Guest's conspiratorial tone sets the scene as Ayla and Crier become involved in political intrigue and take sides in the growing conflict, only to discover their hearts and allegiances aligned. Guest's unhurried yet emotional performance will pull listeners into a star-crossed romance that could change the course of the war all while Crier secretly begins to become aware of her true nature. J.E.C. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"