Nine Shiny Objects

A Novel
x-large
Author(s): Brian Castleberry
Original Publish Date: Jun 30, 2020
Product Number: EB00770445
Released: Jun 30, 2020
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062984425
Publisher: Custom House
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"In this extraordinary novel, Castleberry brilliantly hopscotches from person to person, from era to era, while somehow making all this fancy footwork look effortless and essential." - Jenny Offill, author of Department of Speculation and Weather A luminous debut novel in the tradition of DeLillo and Egan, chronicling the eerily intersecting lives of a series of American dreamers whose unforeseen links reveal the divided heart of a haunted nation—and the battered grace that might lead to its salvation June 26, 1947. Headlines across America report the sighting of nine pulsating lights flying over the Cascade Mountains at speeds surpassing any aircraft. In Chicago, inspired by the news, Oliver Danville, a failed actor now reduced to a mediocre pool hustler, hitchhikes west in a fever-dream quest for a possible sign from above that might illuminate his true calling. A chance encounter with Saul Penrod, an Idaho farmer, and his family sets in motion the birth of "the Seekers"—a collective of outcasts, interlopers, and idealists devoted to creating a society where divisions of race, ethnicity, and sexuality are a thing of the past. When Claudette Donen, a waitress on the lam from her suffocating family, encounters the group, she is compulsively drawn to Oliver's sister Eileen, but before she is able to join the enigmatic community, it has vanished. Reunited across the country, the Seekers attempt to settle in the suburbs of Long Island. One night, their purpose suddenly revealed, a stranger emerges, and a horrific crime ensues. In the decades that follow, the perpetrators, survivors, and their children will be forced to face the consequences of what happened—a reckoning that will involve Charlie Ranagan, a traveling salesman; Max Felt, a dissolute late-1960s rock star; Alice Linwood, an increasingly paranoid radio host; Stanley West, a struggling African American poet; Marly Feldberg, a Greenwich Village painter; and Debbie Vasquez, a Connecticut teenager trapped by an avalanche of midnight legacies. Each will prove to be a piece of a puzzle that, when assembled, reveals a shocking truth about the clash between the optimism of those who seek inspiration from spacious skies, and the venom of others who relish the underworld—not only via conspiratorial maneuverings, but the literal unearthing of the dead. The result is one of the most exciting, and unforgettable, debut novels in recent memory, and the launch of a major career in American letters.

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Brian Castleberry
Narrator(s): Allyson Ryan
Product Number DD50055
Released: Jun 30, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781094162683
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Brian Castleberry
Narrator(s): Allyson Ryan
Product Number Z100155656
Released: Jun 30, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: HarperAudio
ISBN: #9780062984432