Nine Shiny Objects

A Novel
Product Number: EB00770445
Released: Jun 30, 2020
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062984425
Publisher: Custom House
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A stunning literary saga in the tradition of Don DeLillo and Jennifer EganA??a luminous debut novel chronicling the unexpectedly, eerily intersecting lives of a line of dreamers over the course of half a century that reveals the divided heart of modern America itself.June 26, 1947. Headlines across America report that an aviator from Idaho witnessed nine pulsating lights flying over the Cascade Mountains at speeds surpassing any aircraft built by humankind. Days later, a desperate Chicago pool hustler, inspired by the news, hitchhikes west in a fever-dream search for a possible extraterrestrial sign. From those he inspires along the way to the Cascades comes a new communityA??A??The SeekersA?A??devoted to creating a society where divisions of race, ethnicity, and sexuality are a thing of the past. Believing that utopia will begin in a community of their own creation, The Seekers attempt to settle in the suburbs of Long Island. One night, a stranger arrives and a horrific crime ensues. In the decades that follow, the perpetrators, survivors, and their children will be forced to face the consequences of what happened. Like an eroding Atlantic seashore, a Cascade mountain snowflake, and the branching crimson streaks in bloodshot eyes, Nine Shiny Objects is a fractal: a novel of intimate reveries that replicates to form a larger portrait of AmericaA??s cleaved soulA??the perpetual clash between the optimism of those who seek inspiration from spacious skies and the venom of others who relish the underworldA??not only via conspiratorial maneuverings, but the literal unearthing of the dead.

x-large
Author(s): Brian Castleberry
Original Publish Date: Jun 30, 2020

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Brian Castleberry
Product Number Z100155656
Released: Jun 30, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: HarperAudio
ISBN: #9780062984432

Sign up for our email newsletter