Home Games

x-large
Author(s): Benjamin Markovits
Original Publish Date: Feb 04, 2020
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.72 hours)
Product Number: Z100153140
Released: Feb 04, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062993939
Narrator/s: Kirby Heyborne
Publisher: HarperCollins
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Award-winning adult author Benjamin Markovits delivers a poignant coming-of-age middle grade story that will give comfort to anyone feeling like a small fish in a Texas-size sea. Perfect for fans of Kevin Henkes, Rebecca Stead, and Kate DiCamillo. Twelve-year-old Ben is a shy, quiet kid. His life isnA??t perfect, but he feels at home in his New York City apartment. Then his dad takes a job in London, and everything changes. His parents separate, and BenA??s mom moves them back to her hometown of Austin, Texas. BenA??s simple life is suddenly complicated. He misses his apartment, his best friend, Jake, and his dad. Then he meets Mabley, who becomes a bright spot to BenA??s day. But when his mom starts working at his new school and making friends with his teacher, Ben finds himself at the center of all the problems the adults around him canA??t resolveA??and even some of his own. That includes joining the schoolA??s basketball team, where MableyA??s best friend is the star player. After being pushed around, looking for his place, Ben will have to learn how to stand his ground.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Benjamin Markovits
Narrator(s): Kirby Heyborne
Product Number DD48628
Released: Feb 04, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781094113623
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Benjamin Markovits
Product Number EB00759311
Released: Feb 04, 2020
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: #9780062742315

Professional reviews

"At a calm, deliberate pace that matches the slow unfolding of this story, narrator Kirby Heyborne depicts the nuanced emotions of 12-year-old Ben as his parents upend his life. When his father moves to London for a new job, Ben's mother decides not to accompany him, instead moving Ben from their apartment in New York City to Texas to be closer to her own mother. Ben's neutral accent contrasts with the subtle regional accents of the Texans. Heyborne's gentle voice reflects Ben's introspectiveness and sadness, especially as he becomes the target of bullies at school. Heyborne also convincingly conveys Ben's confusion and anger with his parents as he deals with their separation and his transition to a new life. S.C. © AudioFile 2020, Portland, Maine"