Five Things About Ava Andrews

x-large
Author(s): Margaret Dilloway
Original Publish Date: Jun 09, 2020
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.47 hours)
Product Number: Z100155121
Released: Jun 09, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780063000643
Narrator/s: Joy Osmanski
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From Margaret Dilloway, author of Summer of a Thousand Pies, comes a heartfelt and funny story about a shy eleven-year-old who learns to manage her anxiety through improv classesA??and discovers her activist voice. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Lynda Mullaly Hunt, and Holly Goldberg Sloan. Eleven-year-old Ava Andrews has a Technicolor interior with a gray shell. On the inside, she bubbles with ideas and plans. On the outside, everyone except her best friend, Zelia, thinks she doesnA??t talk or, worse, is stuck-up. What nobody knows is that Ava has invisible disabilities: anxiety and a heart condition. Ava hopes middle school will be a fresh start, but when Zelia moves across the country and AvaA??s Nana Linda pushes her to speak up about social issues, she withdraws further. So Ava is shocked when her writing abilities impress her classmates and they invite her to join their improv group, making up stories onstage. Determined to prove she can control her anxiety, she joinsA??and discovers a whole new side of herself, and what it means to be on a team. But as AvaA??s self-confidence blossoms, her relationship with Zelia strains, and she learns that it isnA??t enough just to raise your voiceA??itA??s how and why you use it that matters.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Margaret Dilloway
Narrator(s): Joy Osmanski
Product Number DD50047
Released: Jun 09, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781094161150
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Margaret Dilloway
Product Number EB00767581
Released: Jun 09, 2020
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: #9780062803610