A Bloodsmoor Romance

x-large
Author(s): Joyce Carol Oates
Series: Gothic Saga Series No: 2
Original Publish Date: Apr 28, 2020
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (29.00 hours)
Product Number: Z100157634
Released: Apr 28, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780063022423
Narrator/s: Tavia Gilbert
Publisher: HarperAudio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Finally returned to print in a beautiful new trade paperback edition, comes Joyce Carol OatesA?? lost classic: a satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic Romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose 19th century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture. Set in a nineteenth century similar to our own, A Bloodsmoor Romance follows the beautiful Zinn sisters, five young women who refuseA??for the most partA??A?the obligations of Christian marriage.A? Full of OatesA??s mordant wit and breathlessly told in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator shocked by the Zinn sistersA?? sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of their time, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, A??a novel of mannersA? in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott which Oates turns on its head. OatesA??s dark romp interweaves murder and mayhem, ghosts, and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, womenA??s suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the 19th centuryA??s greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde. A biting assessment of the American landscape and a virtuosic transformation of a literary genre, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical anti-romanceA??Little Women by way of Stephen King.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Joyce Carol Oates
Narrator(s): Tavia Gilbert
Series:
Product Number DD49698
Released: Apr 28, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781094149776
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Joyce Carol Oates
Product Number EB00235218
Released: Mar 18, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Ecco
ISBN: #9780062269201