The Hundred-Year House

x-large
Author(s): Rebecca Makkai
Original Publish Date: Jul 10, 2014
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (8.62 hours)
Product Number: Z100090204
Released: Feb 28, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780147519771
Narrator/s: Jen Tullock
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The acclaimed author of The Borrower returns with a dazzlingly original, mordantly witty novel about the secrets of an old-money family and their turn-of-the-century estate, Laurelfield. "Rebecca Makkai is a writer to watch, as sneakily ambitious as she is unpretentious." –Richard Russo Meet the Devohrs: Zee, a Marxist literary scholar who detests her parents' wealth but nevertheless finds herself living in their carriage house; Gracie, her mother, who claims she can tell your lot in life by looking at your teeth; and Bruce, her step-father, stockpiling supplies for the Y2K apocalypse and perpetually late for his tee time. Then there's Violet Devohr, Zee's great-grandmother, who they say took her own life somewhere in the vast house, and whose massive oil portrait still hangs in the dining room. Violet's portrait was known to terrify the artists who resided at the house from the 1920s to the 1950s, when it served as the Laurelfield Arts Colony—and this is exactly the period Zee's husband, Doug, is interested in. An out-of-work academic whose only hope of a future position is securing a book deal, Doug is stalled on his biography of the poet Edwin Parfitt, once in residence at the colony. All he needs to get the book back on track—besides some motivation and self-esteem—is access to the colony records, rotting away in the attic for decades. But when Doug begins to poke around where he shouldn't, he finds Gracie guards the files with a strange ferocity, raising questions about what she might be hiding. The secrets of the hundred-year house would turn everything Doug and Zee think they know about her family on its head—that is, if they were to ever uncover them. In this brilliantly conceived, ambitious, and deeply rewarding novel, Rebecca Makkai unfolds a generational saga in reverse, leading the reader back in time on a literary scavenger hunt as we seek to uncover the truth about these strange people and this mysterious house. With intelligence and humor, a daring narrative approach, and a lovingly satirical voice, Rebecca Makkai has crafted an unforgettable novel about family, fate and the incredible surprises life can offer. For readers of Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Rebecca Makkai
Product Number EB00398208
Released: Jul 10, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Penguin Books
ISBN: #9780698163546

Professional reviews

"Try to label this audiobook? Impossible! Part thriller? Part mystery? Part family saga or ghost story? No matter. Just sit back and absorb the stories! As its spectacular narrator, Jen Tullock is as multifaceted and interesting as the book itself. She twists her voice to suit any of the offbeat characters, managing a kind of neutrality with the plot that makes the revelations all the more surprising. The late-twentieth-century owners of an ivy-covered estate investigate its history, which includes family scandals and a lively arts colony, both of which unraveled within its walls. Tullock never misses a beat with this broad cast and multileveled plot structure. A wonderful audio performance. L.B.F. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2014, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter