Sanctified Blues

A Novel
Product Number: EB00153013
Released: Dec 27, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780307419200
Publisher: Broadway Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Albertina Merci, a talented R&B singer, toured with Ray Charles, James Brown, and Wilson Pickett-until the fateful night her voice gave out in front of a sold-out crowd. Encouraged by her fans, she offered a little speech in praise of Jesus instead of a song. Her spontaneous words became the seed of "Sanctified Blues," a song that soon captured the hearts of millions and gave Albertina the financial security to follow her true calling as an evangelist-sharing the Gospel with those in need of spiritual comfort. Sanctified Blues is the story of Albertina's encounter with Maggie Clay, the biracial beauty who is TV's reigning diva. A sudden mystery surrounding Maggie has the entire country wondering: Is Maggie having a nervous breakdown, and if so, why? What caused it? And who can save the star from self-destruction?Sanctified Blues introduces a heroine in the vein of Jessica Fletcher of Murder, She Wrote and Precious Ramotswe, head of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency. Her quiet but determined mission to solve spiritual mysteries and dilemmas will endear Albertina to both secular and Christian readers.

Sign up for our email newsletter