Selected Stories of H.G. Wells

Author(s): H.G. Wells
Original Publish Date: Dec 18, 2007
Product Number: EB00162427
Released: Dec 27, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780307431813
Publisher: Modern Library
Please log in to view pricing


Ursula K. Le Guin's selection of twenty-six stories showcases H. G. Wells's genius and reintroduces readers to his singular talent for making the unbelievable seem utterly plausible. He envisioned a sky filled with airplanes before Orville Wright ever left the ground. He described the spectacle of space travel decades before men set foot on the moon. H. G. Wells was a visionary, a man of science with an enduring literary touch, and his originality and inventiveness are fully on display in this essential collection. "Wells imagined both dark and bright futures because his creed allowed both while promising neither, and because the eighty years of his life were years of immense intellectual and technological accomplishment and appalling violence and destruction."—Ursula K. Le Guin, from the introduction "Everything one imagines in the way of genius and fun."—Rebecca West Including these stories: "A Slip Under the Microscope" "The Remarkable Case of Davidson's Eyes" "The Plattner Story" "Under the Knife" "The Crystal Egg" "The New Accelerator" "The Stolen Body" "The Argonauts of the Air" "In the Abyss" "The Star" "The Land Ironclads" "A Dream of Armageddon" "The Lord of the Dynamos" "The Valley of Spiders" "The Story of the Late Mr. Elvesham" "The Man Who Could Work Miracles" "The Magic Shop" "Mr. Skelmersdale in Fairyland" "The Door in the Wall" "The Presence by the Fire" "A Vision of Judgment" "The Story of the Last Trump" "The Wild Asses of the Devil" "Answer to Prayer" "The Queer Story of Brownlow's Newspaper" "The Country of the Blind"