Fall of Giants

Author(s): Ken Follett
Series: Century (Follett) Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Sep 28, 2010
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (30.63 hours)
Product Number: Z100010667
Released: Sep 28, 2010
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780307737397
Narrator/s: John Lee
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing


Ken Follett's magnificent new historical epic begins, as five interrelated families move through the momentous dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for women's suffrage. A thirteen-year-old Welsh boy enters a man's world in the mining pits.An American law student rejected in love finds a surprising new career in Woodrow Wilson's White House. A housekeeper for the aristocratic Fitzherberts takes a fateful step above her station, while Lady Maud Fitzherbert herself crosses deep into forbidden territory when she falls in love with a German spy.And two orphaned Russian brothers embark on radically different paths when their plan to emigrate to America falls afoul of war, conscription, and revolution. From the dirt and danger of a coal mine to the glittering chandeliers of a palace, from the corridors of power to the bedrooms of the mighty, Fall of Giants takes us into the inextricably entangled fates of five families—and into a century that we thought we knew, but that now will never seem the same again.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Ken Follett
Product Number EB00384516
Released: Jun 05, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Penguin Books
ISBN: #9781101543559

Professional reviews

"The hours just crawl by for the listener of this massive potboiler, which follows the intertwined fates of five families--English, Welsh, German, Russian, and American--as they implausibly play a part in most of the major decisions of WWI and the Russian Revolution. John Lee's American accent is better than in some previous efforts, and his other accents (particularly the Welsh) and dramatic narration are an admirable but ultimately fruitless effort to breathe life into stock characters and situations. Listeners tough enough to make it to the finish will be delighted to know that this is the first of a trilogy that will follow these families all the way through the twentieth century. A.B.G. (c) AudioFile 2010, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter