Durable Goods

A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
Series: Katie Nash Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Dec 15, 2010
Product Number: EB00150544
Released: Dec 27, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780307763396
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Please log in to view pricing


On the hot Texas army base she calls home, Katie spends the lazy days of her summer waiting: waiting to grow up; waiting for Dickie Mack to fall in love with her; waiting for her breasts to blossom; waiting for the beatings to stop. Since their mother died, Katie and her older sister, Diane, have struggled to understand their increasingly distant, often violent father. While Diane escapes into the arms of her boyfriend, Katie hides in her room or escapes to her best friend's house-until Katie's admiration for her strong-willed sister leads her on an adventure that transforms her life. Written with an unerring ability to capture the sadness of growth, the pain of change, the nearly visible vibrations that connect people, this beautiful novel by the bestselling author of Open House reminds us how wonderful-and wounding-a deeper understanding of life can be. From the Trade Paperback edition.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
Narrator(s): Natalie Ross
Product Number BN5210
Released: Jan 07, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
ISBN: #9781480501577

Sign up for our email newsletter