Ranchero

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (5.95 hours)
Product Number: Z100024149
Released: Oct 25, 2011
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780307989697
Narrator/s: David Carpenter
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Repo man Nick Reid will do anything to retrieve his landlady's stolen Ranchero in a wild race across the Mississippi Delta in this unforgettable series debut In Rick Gavin's rollicking series debut set squarely in the Mississippi Delta, Nick Reid has a simple job to do: repossess a flat screen TV from Percy Dwayne Dubois-pronounced "Dew-boys," front-loaded and hick specific. But Percy Dwayne wouldn't give in, no; he saw fit to go, the way his sort will, all white-trash philosophical and decided the world was stacked against him anyway. He hit Nick over the head with a fireplace shovel, tied him up with a length of lamp cord, and stole the mint-condition calypso coral-colored 1969 Ranchero that Nick had borrowed from his landlady. And he took the TV with him. Nick and his best friend Desmond, fellow repo man in Indianola, Mississippi, have no choice but to go after him. The fact that the trail eventually leads to Guy, a meth cooker recently set up in the Delta after the Feds ran him out of New Orleans, is of no consequence-Nick will do anything to get the Ranchero back. And it turns out he might have to. A unputdownable road-trip of a crime novel-most of it in Desmond's ex-wife's Geo-Ranchero is a fantastic series debut for fans of Elmore Leonard, Lawrence Block, and Carl Hiaasen.

x-large
Author(s): Rick Gavin
Series: Nick Reid Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Oct 25, 2011

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Rick Gavin
Series:
Product Number EB00010692
Released: Oct 25, 2011
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781429990769

Professional reviews

"As Nick Reid, repo man, seeks to recover a 1969 Ford Ranchero from a meth-lab king in the Mississippi Delta, listeners enjoy the ride through the seedy underbelly of the rural South. Narrator David Carpenter's good-ole-boy tone and lackadaisical pace propel the humor of the novel. And we need to be able to laugh at these characters--otherwise they'd be repulsive. Carpenter's clichŽd voices are appropriate for this cast of trailer trash since the characters, as written, never depart from their own stereotypes. Carpenter's narration gives each redneck a signature quirky voice, which helps distinguish between the depraved, the druggies, and the shifty opportunists. F.T. (c) AudioFile 2012, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter