We Were Beautiful

Product Number: EB00728230
Released: Apr 02, 2019
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780310766384
Publisher: Blink
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The trace amount of alcohol in her bloodstream. The tremendous amount of guilt on her shoulders. A severely scarred face that is a daily reminder of the car crash that killed her sister. But when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the night Rachel died, the shocking truth might be as jarring as the crunch of metal. It's been a year since fifteen-year-old Mia Hopkins was in a car crash that killed her older sister, Rachel, and left her own face terribly scarred. The doctors tell her she was lucky to survive. Her therapist says it will take time to heal. The police reports claim there were trace amounts of alcohol in her bloodstream. But no matter how much she tries to reconstruct the events of that fateful night, Mia's memory is spotty at best. She's left with accusations, rumors, and guilt so powerful it is quickly consuming her. As the rest of Mia's family struggles with their own grief, Mia is sent to New York City to spend the summer with a grandmother she's never met. All Mia wants to do is hide from the world, but instead she's stuck with a summer job in the bustling kitchens of the cafe down the street. There she meets Fig-blue-haired, friendly, and vivacious-who takes Mia under her wing. As Mia gets to know Fig and her friends-including Cooper, the artistic boy who's always on Mia's mind-she realizes that she's not the only one with a painful past. Over the summer, Mia starts to learn that redemption isn't as impossible as she once thought, but her scars inside run deep and aren't nearly so simple to heal especially when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the awful night Rachel died. We Were Beautiful is: -A unique coming of age story about tragedy, forgiveness, and love -Written by acclaimed, award-winning author Heather Hepler -Perfect for fans of Robyn Schneider and Justina Chen. -A poignant, clean YA romance unafraid to explore serious contemporary life issues

x-large
Author(s): Heather Hepler
Original Publish Date: Apr 02, 2019

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Heather Hepler
Narrator(s): Misty Wells
Product Number DD43975
Released: Apr 08, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781974944897
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Heather Hepler
Narrator(s): Misty Wells
Product Number Z100147436
Released: Apr 02, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Zondervan
ISBN: #9780310768647

Sign up for our email newsletter